Which Certification is Right for You?

CompTIA has different exams for different skill levels and areas of expertise.

By Skill Level

Foundational: For students or workers new to IT

Entry-Level: For those starting an IT career

  • CompTIA A+: Preventative maintenance, basic networking, installation, troubleshooting and communication skills

Professional: For established IT workers

  • CompTIA Network+: Managing, maintaining, troubleshooting, operating and configuring basic network infrastructure
  • CompTIA Security+: System security, network infrastructure, cryptography, assessments and audits
  • CompTIA Linux+ Powered by LPI: Linux installation, system architecture, GNU and UNIX commands, and user interfaces and desktops
  • CompTIA Server+: Building, maintaining and troubleshooting server hardware and software
  • CompTIA CTT+: Classroom preparation, communication, facilitation and evaluation
  • CompTIA Project+: Project management process, including initiation, planning, execution and support
  • CompTIA Green IT: Identifying green prospects, providing appropriate solutions and customer care

Areas of Expertise

Hardware: How to set up, test, and troubleshoot office equipment.

Systems: How to integrate computers and secure communications in a business environment.

Methodology: How traditional business roles benefit from technical knowledge

Passing the exam made it possible for me to earn 17 college credits. That enabled me to take advanced courses in college much sooner, which reduced the time it took to graduate by one and a half semesters. I saved over $3,000 in tuition and books.
Christian Johnson
Hill International

Read Others | Share Your Story